52 Places Guyanese Can Visit Without A Visa

Kaieteur Falls, Guyana

Getting a travel visa can be difficult for some, especially to places like the United States and Canada. In many cases, most applicants are denied because they are unable to clearly establish “strong ties” with their home country. This might be quite common especially among younger people who are just starting out in life and do not have much to their name.

Getting European visas may not be as hard, but it can still prove challenging for some. So does this mean taking a vacation is out of the question? Not so fast. The Guyanese passport allows citizens and residents access to a number of countries within the Caribbean and Central America, South America, and even parts of Asia without the need for a visa. Beyond that, some countries allow visas on entry (which are almost always guaranteed) and online visa applications (which are very easy to get).

Assuming that you not eligible for a visa or choose not to apply for one, most connecting travel would have to be done via countries such a Trinidad, Panama and Brazil, and you may have to determine whether it makes more sense to fly out of Cheddi Jagan or Ogle. With that said, let’s take a look at visa free countries along with those that require visa on entry, online visa applications and electronic travel authorizations.

Countries that Guyanese can enter without a visa

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Curacao
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Grenada
  • Haiti
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Kosovo
  • Lesotho
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Niue
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu

Countries that Guyanese can enter with a visa on arrival

For the sake of separation and clarity, the following countries allow you entry, but you are required apply for a visa on arrival at the airport. It can either be in the form of a small stamp or may even take up an entire passport page. On a good day, the application time takes just 10 minutes and denial is very rare. With that said, here are countries you will need a visa on arrival.

  • Armenia
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Egypt
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Laos
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Countries that Guyanese can enter with travel authorization

An electronic travel authorization bears some similarities to a visa, but it is NOT a visa. It allows certain citizens under the country’s specific waiver list access to their country via an authorization. Travel authorizations are easier to get than visas, and require just filling out some information and paying a fee. So far, Sri Lanka is the only country that requires an electronic travel authorization to enter.

Countries that Guyanese can enter with an electronic visa

Visas could be challenging to obtain, but electronic visas (referred to as eVisas) tend to have much higher approval rates. The applicant just has to fill out an online form with their information and pay the respective fees. Travelers applying should have a valid passport and be able to meet the requirements set out in the visa application process. There are more background checks with eVisas, and while it may not be a pain like applying for a physical visa, there are still chances that you could be denied. With that said, here are the countries citizens and nationals of Guyana need an electronic visa to enter.

  • Australia
  • Benin
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Guatemala
  • India
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Moldova
  • Montserrat
  • Norfolk Island
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • South Sudan
  • St. Helena
  • Tajikistan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan

[Featured Photo: David Stanley/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)]

Read More