Trinidad And Tobago To Ban Non-Nationals From Entering Country For 14 Days From March 17, 2020


In a national press conference today, Prime Minister Keith Rowley has announced that effective March 17, 2020, non-nationals will be barred from entering Trinidad and Tobago borders for the next 14 days.

Exceptions will be granted on a case by case basis, and must be approved by the Ministers of both National Security and Health. Some exceptions include the movement of Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) health officials between Caribbeans islands, and cargo vessels bringing in raw and finished products.

National Security Minister Stuart Young also clarified that nationals include both citizens and permanent residents of Trinidad and Tobago.

“We will cease to encourage and facilitate for the next 14 days the entry of persons into our country except under exceptional circumstances the entry of persons that are not nationals of Trinidad and Tobago.

“We will protect our health. We will protect your jobs. We will protect your families. We will protect our economy as far as we are able and we will set out to protect our country.”

Other local protective measures include the closure of bars, limiting public gatherings to 25 people or less, and closing schools and other educational institutions until April 20, 2020.

[Featured Photo: Bradley Wint/Gate Checked]

Read More