Travelers from 22 hotspot states within the United States will now be required to provide contact information or face being fined $2,000 when arriving in the New York/Tri-state area (New York, New Jersey and Connecticut).
Previously, passengers arriving into New York, New Jersey or Connecticut, were asked to fill out a health form before arriving as the respective airports. Back then, the form was still optional, but as more states across the U.S. see an upsurge in positive COVID-19 cases, NY Governor Andrew Cuomo has worked to put into effect an emergency health order requiring that the form be a mandatory requirement on entry if you are from one of 22 hotspot states. Those who fail to fill out the document will receive a summons and a $2,000 fine.
In the latest update, the following states were identified as hotspots:
- North Carolina
- New Mexico
- South Carolina
Hotspot states are defined as those with “a seven day rolling average, of positive tests in excess of 10%, or number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.”
Travelers from these 22 states are also asked to quarantine for a period of 14 days, even though transit passengers will be able to bypass this restriction.
If you have traveled from within one of the designated states with significant community spread, you must quarantine when you enter New York for 14 days from the last travel within such designated state, provided on the date you enter into New York State that such state met the criteria for requiring such quarantine.
The requirements of the travel advisory do not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration (i.e., less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
[Featured Photo: Bradley Wint/Gate Checked]